As a precautionary measure due to the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19), the SCPP Forum to be held on Fri., March 13, at St. Joseph’s College, Patchogue, will be rescheduled to a future date.

There are currently no confirmed cases of COVID-19 on campus, however we do understand that regional leadership will be focused on the safety of their students and personnel.

Thank you for your continued support of the Partnership!






Special Guests:

New York State Board of Regents Chancellor Betty A. Rosa

New York State Regent Roger B. Tilles


9–11 a.m. / 9 a.m. Light Breakfast & Networking / 9:30 a.m. Program
St. Joseph’s College, O’Connor Hall, Patchogue, New York




Join higher education and P-12 partners and regional stakeholders for a core-alignment conversation and progress report on the Partnership’s groundbreaking work to improve transitional pathways.


The Partnership has made great progress to develop a P-16 “real world” operational definition of college readiness. In response to research findings, the collective identified three primary areas of focus for continued work and will present updates as follows:

College Readiness: Counseling & Advising Report
Representatives from a 40-member high school-college core team identified key understandings, skills, and dispositions that best support students for the social and emotional challenges of the transition to college. Co-chairs will highlight a college readiness pilot program designed to help families and their students build foundational practices for future success and share next steps to bring this project to scale across Long Island.

College Readiness: Mathematics Report
SCPP Mathematics Chair Dr. Timothy Eagen and partners representing a 16-member core team will outline the proposed 12th grade mathematics course designed to best align with non-STEM college freshmen expectations.

College Readiness: Writing Report
Co-chairs will share strategies for a collaborative, regional approach to eliminate instructional gaps.
The college readiness initiative serves to inform the profession, make a contribution to the larger conversation about secondary/post-secondary alignment, promote equity across the region, and improve student attainment rates.


P12: Superintendents, Asst. Superintendents, Principals, School Counseling (Guidance) Directors/Counselors, Mathematics & Writing Instructors, and Curriculum Development Directors

Higher Education: Presidents; Chief Academic Officers; Provosts; School of Education Deans & Faculty; English & Mathematics Faculty; Directors/Staff of Instructional Development, Writing Center, and Tutoring & Counseling/Student Advising

Long Island: regional stakeholders, industry partners and nonprofits that serve the education community


The Superintendents/College Presidents Partnership (S/CPP) is a work group of the Long Island Regional Advisory Council on Higher Education (LIRACHE). To participate in the Partnership or to learn more about LIRACHE, contact Executive Director Heather Shivokevich.


SCPP Steering Committee Members:


Dr. Donald Boomgaarden
President, St. Joseph’s College

Dr. Shari Camhi
Superintendent, Baldwin UFSD


Dr. Kimberly Cline
President, LIU

Dr. Timothy Eagen
Superintendent, Kings Park CSD

Dr. Timothy Hearney
Superintendent, Bayport-Blue Point UFSD

Dr. Lorna Lewis
Superintendent, Plainview-Old Bethpage CSD

Dr. Thomas Rogers
Superintendent, Syosset CSD

Couseling/Advising Work Group Co-Chairs:

(Group is comprised of more than 40 participants representing P12 and Higher Education Partners)

Dr. Robert Feirsen
Director, School of Leadership & Technology Program, NYIT, & former Superintendent and SCPP Co-Chair

Deadra Faulkner
Director of Guidance, Westbury UFSD, Nassau Counselors’ Association

Dr. Rachelle “Shelley” Germana
Asst. Dean & Director of Undergraduate Colleges, Stony Brook University

Dr. Kim Rodriguez
Director of College & Career Counseling, Southampton UFSD & Executive Board, Suffolk Directors of Guidance

Mathematics Work Group:


Dr. Timothy Eagen
Supt., Kings Park CSD & SCPP Co-Chair

P12 Partners:

Angelica Babino
Director of Mathematics, Smithtown CSD*

Thomas R. Dick
Junior High School Principal, Eastport South Manor School District

John Ferritto
K-12 Mathematics Coordinator, Islip Union Free School District*

Teresa Grossane
Math/Science Coordinator, Eastport South Manor School District*

Jayson Kiang
Mathematics Department Chairperson, Longwood High School

Dr. Lorna Lewis
Superintendent, Plainview Old Bethpage & SCPP Steering Committee Member

Lance Lohman
Director of Curriculum for ELA, Math, and Science, Longwood High School

Dr. Linda M. Lopez
Supervisor I, Nassau BOCES Dept. of Special Education

Tara Mauer
Director of Mathematics, K-12; Supervisor of Family & Consumer Sciences, 9-12, Oceanside Schools

LIRACHE Partners:

Stuart Kaplan
Chairperson of Mathematics/Computer Science/Information Technology Dept., N.C.C.

Dr. Josh Hiller
Asst. Professor Math and Computer Science, Adelphi University

Dr. Carlos A. Marques
Chair, Mathematics, Farmingdale State College

Dr. Abraham S. Mantell
Professor, Mathematics, Computer Science/Information Technology Dept., N.C.C.

Dr. Salvatore Petrilli
Assoc. Professor & Chair, Dept. of Mathematics & Computer Science, Adelphi University

Dr. Corbett Redden
Associate Professor, Dept. of Mathematics, LIU Post

Dr. Daniel Seabold
Associate Professor, Chair, Hofstra University

Dr. Scott Sutherland
Assoc. Professor, Stony Brook Mathematics

Deborah Upton
Ed.D. Chairperson, Assoc. Professor, Molloy College

Dr. David S. Wayne
Director of C.A.M.C.L.E., Mathematics Dept., Hofstra University

Dr. Steve Warner
Assoc. Professor of Mathematics, Hofstra University

Deborah Wolfson
College Asst. Dean for Academic Affairs, Liaison to Suffolk’s Excelsior & Early College Programs, NYCEP Pres. Professor of Mathematics, S.C.C.C.

Writing Work Group:


Victor Jaccarino
Director, English Education, Hofstra University

Dr. Kyrie Siegel
ELA Director, Middle Country UFSD

P12 Partners:

Dr. Rebecca Chowske
District Coordinator of ELA, Manhasset School District

Anja Groth
Director of Instruction, Rocky Point UFSD (retired)

Joann Hili-Carbone
English Dept. Chair, South Huntington UFSD

Michelle Peterson-Davis
Asst. Principal, Maplewood Intermediate School, South Huntington UFSD

Nicole Waldbauer
ELA Director, Shoreham Wading River UFSD

LIRACHE Partners:

Dr. Noel H. Brathwaite
Professor of English, Farmingdale State College-SUNY

Dr. Donna Ciampi
Assoc. Dean, Academic Affairs-Liberal Arts, Professor of Education, SCCC

Darshna Katwala
Director, Long Island Writing Project, NCC

Dr. Louisa Kramer Vida
Assoc. Dean & Chair, Dept. of Special Education & Literacy, LIU

Matthew Lavery
Director of Learning and Writing Centers, Adelphi University

Dr. Cheryl Novins
Dept. Chair, Professor of Reading / BEP, NCC

SCPP Mission Statement

The Superintendents-College Presidents Partnership is a unique and ongoing forum that addresses matters affecting teaching and learning on Long Island. Recognizing that K through 12 and postsecondary institutions are systemically interdependent, the Partnership identifies shared solutions across academic levels. The Partnership engages other sectors (e.g., business, government) in collaborations to improve the quality of life, work, and learning in our region. Our Mission:

  1. To support the continuous improvement of teacher education programs;
  2. To attract more high school graduates to Long Island colleges; thereby increasing the likelihood that they will choose to live and work locally;
  3. To encourage students to pursue teaching careers in subject areas that have shortages: science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM); and
  4. To address issues of transition for all students.